J1s secure Towns Cup Quarter Final Spot   20/02/2017

J1s secure Towns Cup Quarter Final Spot

Near neighbours Arklow were the visitors to Clonattin for a highly anticipated Round 2 clash in the BOI Provincial Towns Cup. One of the best home crowds for some time turned out with a good number making the short trip down the N11 to support the men in black and red.

Gorey struck early, in the 3rd minute, with Nevil Copeland going over in the corner following some good hands in the back line. A combination of resolute Arklow defending and poor Gorey handling meant it was quite some time before Gorey were to add another 5 pointer to the scoreboard, with only a James Nolan penalty in the 15th minute the reward for their efforts, for 8 - 0. When Gorey did score another try ,in the 34th minute, it was again Nevil Copeland crossing the line with almost a carbon copy of his 1st try. Just before half time a David Shannon try, brought the score to 20 - 0, and made the 2nd half task for Arklow that bit more difficult.

But they certainly started the 2nd half in a strong manner. The Gorey pack were put under serious pressure which eventually led to a penalty try, in the 47th min, and at 20 - 7 the Arklow crowd got more vocal. Gary Rynhart, with a very strong run and good finish after 58 mins, dented hopes of an Arklow comeback and Gareth Bater finished them off with his score bringing it to 34 - 7 in the 63rd minute. In fairness to Arklow they didn't throw the towel in and were rewarded with a try in the 70th minute for 34 - 14. But from when Gary Rynhart scored his 2nd, in the 75th minute, further Gorey tries were added by David Shannon (after 77 mins), Stephen Duke (after 78 mins) and Mark Whelan (80th min) leaving the final score at 62 - 14.

Following the match news came through of the Quarter Final pairings with Gorey facing a tough trip to Ashbourne on the 19th March.

Team - R Deering, B O'Connor, D Bellanova, D O'Leary, A Bond, M Whelan, P de Barra, JP Redmond (Capt), S Horan, S Duke, J Butterworth, J Nolan, G Rynhart, N Copeland, D Shannon, E O Scannail, C Allen, W Rothwell, S Hadden, P Horan, H Gaiser, G Bater, C Butler, A Walsh


Our Sponsors

Copyrights Gorey RFC 2022